Sir Alex Ferguson has been charged by the FA for his comments to the media after the match against Tottenham Hotspur on 20th January, 2013. The Manchester United manager bemoaned the performance of assistant referee Simon Beck in a game which saw Spurs score a last gasp equaliser to secure a 1-1 draw at White Hart Lane to reduce United’s lead at the top of the Premier league table to 5 points.

The FA on their official website stated about the incident as follows:

Speaking last Friday, Ferguson had defended his right to criticise match officials and suggested that English football’s governing body had singled him out for punishment.

It is alleged the Manchester United manager breached FA Rule E3 in that he implied that the match official was motivated by bias.

Ferguson has until 4pm on Friday 1 February 2013 to respond to the charge.”

“We are high-profile and the profile of me is such that the FA naturally panic as soon as the press criticise them,” he said.

“I think that is what you will find. That is why they have sent me a letter.

“Whether I think it is unfair or not doesn’t matter to them really at this point. I just think it is more about me than what I have said.”

0 votes