Brianni Bonner, 23, told WFAA that she came home to her place at the Riviera Apartments on Audelia Road in Dallas, Texas, after work on Saturday morning to find the locks had been changed.

She told the station that a maintenance man then told her that she couldn’t go in.

He “tells me I’m going to go to jail because it’s against the law for me to get into my apartment,” she said.

Bonner said she later learned that she had been evicted by mistake and that managers had actually intended to evict the tenant who was living in the unit below her.

“I came home and couldn’t enter my apartment,” she wrote on a GoFundMe page.

“I had to find out on my own that I was EVICTED [by] accident. My Apartment complex told me that they had trashed by things by mistake.”

Bonner said she found her belongings, including her medication and her four-year-old son’s toys, in the trash.

When she was allowed to enter her apartment several hours later, it was empty and had been repainted.

“I can’t even explain to you the depression it’s caused,” she told WFAA. “I feel like everything was taken from me. It doesn’t feel like home anymore.

She said management tried to compensate her with a $200 debit card, which she called “a slap in the face.”

Bonner said she had been working at Walmart to cover her rent payments and save up for school. “It’s so stressful, and I have to start all over,” she said.

In a statement to Newsweek, a spokesman for Riviera Apartments said: “Since learning about the incident involving Brianni Bonner and her young son our senior management team has been trying to reach out to Ms. Bonner to apologize and address the problems caused when our staff mistakenly emptied the contents of the wrong apartment.

“We want to offer our sincere apologies for the way the situation was addressed once the error was discovered and are attempting to contact Ms. Bonner to discuss how we can fairly compensate her and her son.”

The statement added: “In addition, we are reviewing our procedures to see if additional safeguards or training are necessary to help make sure this type of incident is not repeated.”

The spokesman added that there “was never an eviction” as workers believed the apartment was vacant bar the items left behind.

“The resident did not have furniture which was the reason for the confusion. It was never an eviction at her apartment or the apartment below,” he added.

Bonner told WFAA that she had called Dallas Police to file a report. The police department has been contacted for comment.

She also set up a GoFundMe page on Thursday asking for donations to help her buy necessities. The page has so far amassed more than $18,000 toward a $20,000 target.

“This is so heartless and I can’t believe this had to happen to us,” she wrote.

She added: “I came here to change my life. My son and I are 13 hours away from our family and now we have NOTHING left. I have to start over again and honestly anything would help.”

Bonner has been contacted for additional comment.

Update 05/14/21 5.15 a.m. ET: This article has been updated with statements from Riviera Apartments.